Saturday, May 25, 2013

Indian Institutes of Technology & National Institutes of Technology

Indian Institutes of Technology
The Indian Institute of Technology (IITs) has sixteen centers located in Bhubaneswar, Bombay, Delhi, Gandhinagar, Guwahati, Hyderabad, Indore, Jodhpur, Kanpur, Kharagpur, Madras, Mandi,Patna, Roorkee, Ropar and Varanasi. All IITs enjoy the status of the Institutes of National Importance and are autonomous universities that draft their own curricula. Many IITs are members of LAOTSE, an international network of universities in Europe and Asia. LAOTSE membership allows the IITs to exchange students and senior scholars with universities in other countries.
Admission to undergraduate B.Tech and integrated M.Tech programs are through IIT-JEE (the Joint Entrance Examination) in which around 400,000 students appear annually out of which only 5,500 get selected. Admission to most postgraduate courses in IITs is granted through various written entrance examinations: GATE (for M.Tech.), JAM (for M.Sc.) and CEED (for M.Des.). The admission for Ph.D. program is based primarily on a personal interview, though candidates may also have to appear for written tests. The IITs are also well known for their special reservation policy, which is significantly different from the one applied in other educational institutions of India. For details of colleges in India see: Indian Institutes of Technology and Engineering colleges of India.
National Institute of Technology
The National Institutes of Technology (NIT) are premier colleges of engineering and technology education in India. They were originally called Regional Engineering Colleges (RECs). In 2002, the Ministry of Human Resource Development, Government of India, decided to upgrade, in phases, all the original 17 Regional Engineering Colleges (RECs) as National Institutes of Technology (NITs). There are currently 30 NITs, with the inception of 10 new NITs in the year 2010. The Government of India has introduced the National Institutes of Technology (NIT) Act 2010 to bring 30 such institutions within the ambit of the act and to provide them with complete autonomy in their functioning. The NITs are deliberately scattered throughout the country in line with the government norm of an NIT in every major state of India to promote regional development. The individual NITs, after the introduction of the NIT Act, have been functioning as autonomous technical universities and hence can draft their own curriculum and functioning policies.
The admission to undergraduate programs of all the NITs was done by the All India Engineering Entrance Examination popularly known as AIEEE. From the year 2013, AIEEE was replaced by JEE(Main)in which 40% weightage is given to the Higher Secondary results and 60% weightage given to the JEE(Main) results. In addition to the NITs, a host of other well-known national level reputed institutes like DCE, NSIT, IIITs, PEC, Thapar University, DA-IICT, BIT Mesra accept students from the newly introduced examination. The examination is objective by nature and is conducted by the Central Board of Secondary Education popularly known as the CBSE. More than fourteen lakh(1,400,000) applicants took part in 2013 for approximately 15500 seats in the B. Tech and B. Arch programmes available in all the NITs put together. Anna University
Anna University is one of the premier educational institutions around the world located in Chennai. There are four colleges that directly comes under the University namely College of Engineering Guindy, Madras Institute of Technology, Alagappa College of Technology and School of Architecture and Planning. Also, there are also a lot of engineering colleges that are affiliated under the University located all around Tamil Nadu. College of Engineering Guindy (CEG) also has the distinction of being the first engineering institute in India when it was founded as a School of Survey in 1794 under the Madras University before most of the engineering colleges in the State were merged under Anna University in 1978.
The admission to the undergraduate courses in all the colleges under the university is done on the basis of the cut-off marks scored in the Tamil Nadu state Higher Secondary exams. Counselling procedure is followed for the students under both merit and sports windows. Also there are adequate seats allotted for students from other states and countries to get admission into the courses.
Indian Institute of Information Technology
Indian Institutes of Information Technology (IIITs) are a group of four institutes of higher education in India, focused on information technology. They are established by the central government, centrally funded, and managed by the Ministry of Human Resource Development.
  • Indian Institute of Information Technology, Allahabad (IIIT Allahabad)
  • Indian Institute of Information Technology and Management, Gwalior (IIITM-G)
  • Indian Institute of Information Technology, Design and Manufacturing, Jabalpur (IIITDM Jabalpur)
  • Indian Institute of Information Technology Design & Manufacturing Kancheepuram (IIITDM Kancheepuram)